EWORA 8th Conference



Kadir Has University, Istanbul 

2-3 November, 2023

8th EWORA Conference  “Global Female Leadership and the Future of Universities”

MEDNIGHT, "Mediterranean Science Team - GALA" 

Istanbul, 2-3 November, 2023 


Venue: Kadir Has University, D Block Grand Hall

Master of Ceremonies: Rukiye Devres Ünver


Please click here to download the conference program. 

Please click here to download the MEDNIGHT GALA program specifically. 


2 November 2023

09:00 – 09:15                          

Welcome Coffee and Registration

09:15 -10:30

Conference Opening Session

Gülsün Sağlamer, President, EWORA

Sondan D. Feyiz, Rector, Kadir Has University 

Attila Dikbaş, CEO, ITU ARI Technopark 

Chen Weijia, Executive Vice Chairperson, WWUPF Organizing Committee

10:30 - 11:30 

Opening Keynote Speeches

Chair: Kerstin Tham, Vice Chancellor, Malmö University 


"Turning tough choices into scholar-led transformation"

Najat A. Saliba, Professor of Chemistry at American University Beirut, Member of the Lebanese Parliament

"Recognizing women's leadership at the universities: from practices to policies"

Bertil Emrah Oder, Professor of Constitutional Law and Dean, UNESCO Chair for Gender Equality and Sustainable Development 

11:30 - 11:45 Photocall
11:45 - 12:00 Coffee Break 
12:00 - 13:00

Roundtable- Experts Voices 

"Gender Equality under Threat: Reflecting on the Measures for Improvement"

Chair: Isabel Capeloa Gil, Rector, Catholic University of Portugal 


Eileen Drew, Former Director, Trinity Centre for Gender Equality & Leadership, Trinity College

Fanny M. Cheung, Former Pro Vice-Chancellor, the Chinese University of Hong Kong

Louise Morley, Emeritus Professor of Higher Education, CHEER, University of Sussex

13:00 - 14:00

Roundtable Session - 1: 

"Transformational Leadership under the High Speed of Change"

Chair: Prof. Pamela Gillies, Former Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Glasgow Caledonian University


Gulsun Saglamer, President, EWORA & Former Rector, ITU

Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble, Chancellor, Webster University 

Chryssi Vitsilaki, Former Rector,  University of the Aegean


14:00 - 15:00 LUNCH 
15:00 - 17:00 


MEDNIGHT, the Mediterranean Researchers’ Night, includes among its activities the selection of the Mediterranean Science Team

and the grand Gala at which the 11 chosen scientists of the Team will be presented to the public, and the media. 

Mednight has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon Europe research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 101061190

17:00 - 19:00 Welcome Cocktail at Rezan Has Museum located in Kadir Has University 






3 November 2023

09:30 -10:30 

Roundtable Session -  2:

"Advancing Gender Equality at Technical Universities of Europe"

Chair: Birgitt Riegraf, President, Paderborn University 


Silvia Lenearts, Rector Magnificus, TU Eindhoven

Yusuf Baran, Rector, İzmir Institute of Technology

Ana Costa Freitas, President, Portuguese Association of Women in Science 

Tuncay Döğeroğlu, Former Rector, Eskişehir Technical University

10:30 - 11:00

Keynote Speeches 


"The power of data to advance equal career opportunities – a European perspective"

Federica Rosetta, Vice President, Academic & Research Relations, EU Elsevier

11:00 - 11:30  Coffee Break
11:30 - 12:30 

Roundtable Session -3: 

"Inclusive Leadership: Lessons Learned and Recommendations"

Chair: Inga Žalėnienė, Rector, Mykolas Romeris University 


Şirin Karadeniz, Former Rector, Bahcesehir University 

Biljana Angelova, Rector, Cyril and Methodius University 

Edmond Hajrizi, President, University for Business and Technology

12:30 - 13:30

Roundtable Session - 4:

"The Future of Higher Education Networks: Challenges and Opportunities"

Chair : Carmen Fenoll. Former Vice-Rector, University of Castilla-La Mancha 


Mattias Björnmalm, Secretary General, CESAER

Amanda Crowfoot , Secretary General, EUA 

Silvia Gomez Recio, Secretary General, YERUN

Hilligje van’t Land, Secretary General, IAU 

Emmanuelle Gardan, Director, Coimbra Group Office

13:30 - 14:30  LUNCH 
14:30 - 15:30 

Roundtable Session 5 :

"15th Anniversary of the European Women Rectors Conference Series"

Chair : Christina Ullenius, Former Rector, Karlstad University 


Christina Ullenius, Former Rector, Karlstad University 

Krista Varantola, Former Rector, Tampere University 

Sijbolt Noorda,  President Emeritus, University of Amsterdam

Helena Nazare, Former Rector,  University of Aveiro

Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble, Chancellor, Webster University 

15:30 - 16:30

Conclusions by EWORA Board and SAB Members

16:30 - 16:45 Break

16:45 - 17:45

EWORA Members: General Assembly      
18:00 Bus Transfer to Istanbul Museum of Modern Art

Transfer to Liman Istanbul for Dinner by walking


Bus Transfer to Marmara Pera







8th EWORA Conference Program